Brick 22

Outstanding International Brick Architecture

Outstanding brick architecture from all over the world: the international Brick Award 2022 demonstrates the impressive versatility of bricks as building material


Title Information

Edited by Wienerberger AG. With contributions by Matevz Celik, Anna Cymer, Wojciech Czaja, Isabella Leber, Henrietta Palmer, Anneke Bokern, Christian Holl and Anders Krug

1st edition

, 2022


284 pages, 299 color and 118 b/w illustrations and plans

24.5 x 30.5 cm

ISBN 978-3-03860-278-1


From hand-made brick to high-tech product: building with blocks of fired clay today draws from a heritage of nine millennia and remains innovative, sustainable, and highly appreciated for its manifold applications.

Since 2004, Wienerberger, the world’s largest manufacturer of bricks and other clay building materials, biannually presents the international Brick Award as a scene for outstanding achievements in brick architecture. The tenth edition of this master class in 2022 saw 789 submissions from fifty-three countries, that were reviewed by an international jury of experts. This book features the fifty nominees and the winning designs in five categories. All of them are presented through concise texts, atmospheric images, as well as site and floor plans, views, elevations, and sections. Topical essays by architect Matevz Celik, architecture historian Anna Cymer, publicist Wojciech Czaja, professor of architecture Isabella Leber, and architect Henrietta Palmer round out this survey of contemporary brick architecture.


Wienerberger AG, established in Vienna in 1819, is today the world’s largest manufacturer of bricks and other clay building materials.


Deutsche Ausgabe


Other available editions:

Brick 20 (English)

Brick 20 (German)

Brick 18 (English)

Brick 18 (German)

Authors & Editors
Please send a review copy.


Zip code